Skip to content

Nintendo, Call it Tough Love

May 17, 2011

All right, Ninty, listen up. E3 is just around the corner, and I have a bone to pick with you. For too long, I’ve been nice to you and supportive of what you’ve done. But this lack of support of gamers is just pissing me off. First, you promised Brawl would be released as a launch title, yet the game was released in 2008. Then, you said you would improve your online infrastructure, yet we still have friend codes. Then, you said there would be Wii content before E3 2011, yet there’s nothing. Then, this crap about online support for the 3DS, and we all know what happened to that. Now, you’re saying Project Café will bring back the core audience. But you’ve been doing a lot of talking, Ninty, but no action, and quite frankly I’m sick of it.

I don’t want to spend two-hundred-something-dollars on a system that only gives me a portion of what the Xbox 360, which is five-year-old technology, can offer. And it’s not about the graphics I’m worried about; I’m concerned about the software, the online, the processor. The reason as to why the Wii had very little support was because the hardware wasn’t even any better than the Gamecube. Developers don’t want hardware that is sub par compared to the other systems. I’m not asking for an HD system, but as a future developer I’m asking for a powerful system. It’s difficult enough to port a game over to another system, but to reduce the power? That’s not what anyone wants to do. That’s why we don’t see Batman: Arkham Asylum, BioShock, Pure, and the like on the Wii.

And work on your online structure! Stop this “gamers don’t need online” bull-crap. Uh, apparently they do, since millions of gamers play Halo and Call of Duty online every day. I’m not a fan of online-only gaming, but I would like to see more from Nintendo’s online service. I understand it’s expensive, but Sony could provide a good service (before the hack, that is); and if you need some cash, offer a paid service with more features. I want to play Star Fox 64 3D with my buddies Ahmad and Brendon from miles away than to have to meet up at one of our houses. People can’t do that anymore due to a “terrible” thing called life, and I’d like to continue playing games with my friends. And friend codes are not the answer. It’s much more difficult to remember a series of random numbers and letters than to remember a username. I don’t want to have to remember 9546-4486-1268.

And is Pandora’s Tower going to see a Western release? Why can’t you localize these Japanese titles? I understand Earthbound did not do too well, but the Mother franchise now has a following. If sales are your factor for localization (which I can understand), then try to hype the game up for an audience that would be interested in such a product. Marketing is key!

Ugh… I just want the old Nintendo back, not this Apple-wannabe. I miss the fun of buying a Nintendo system. Now, it feels like I’m not getting my money’s worth anymore. I’m going to get the next version of the 3DS, because it’ll have more features and more games for it by then. As for Project Café, Nintendo better impress me. I already have an Xbox 360, so I can just keep buying games for that system. Ninty, to quote someone else, you “are the architect of [your] own destruction.” I wish you luck, but be careful. Mario and Kirby are the only two that are keeping me a paying customer, since it doesn’t seem you’re too interested in Star Fox nor Pikmin.

Oh, and Morgan Webb? Go suck my dick. :D

From → Rant, Video games

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

